The Oklahoma DPS Point System Explained
The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (Now Called Service Oklahoma) uses a point system to determine when a license should be suspended or revoked. Individuals gain points for various driving-related traffic infractions, including: speeding, drunk driving, reckless driving, etc. While points eventually expire, you could lose your license if you get too many traffic tickets or criminal charges within a certain time period.
How many points lead to a suspension?
Traffic violations are assigned points based on the seriousness of the infraction, and a total of 10 points will lead to a suspension of your license. The point system resets every 5 years. This means if you accumulate 10 points within 5 years, you’ll receive a suspension from Service OK.
How many points is an ordinary traffic violation?
The number of points you are given will depend on the type of traffic violation you committed:
- Reckless driving: 4 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus: 4 points
- Speeding 1-10mph over the limit: 0 points
- Speeding 11-25mph over the limit: 2 points
- Speeding 26-40mph over the limit: 3 points
- Speeding 40+mph over the limit: 4 points
- Violation of license restriction: 2 points
- Careless driving: 2 points
- Following another vehicle too closely: 2 points
- Failure to obey a stop sign or traffic light: 2 points
- Failure to yield: 2 points
- Failure to signal: 1 point
- Wrong way on a one-way street: 2 points
- Operating a defective vehicle: 1 point
- At-fault accident: 3 points
- Improper passing: 3 points
- Railroad crossing: 2 points
The above list is based on the 2022 DPS point system and can change at any time. For that reason, we recommend relying on this point chart merely as a general guideline and referring to the Service OK or DMV website for the most current information. Additionally, these point values will be different for anyone with a commercial drivers license (CDL).
How long is a license suspension?
The length of your license suspension depends on your driving history. If you have previously had your license suspended, your punishment will be longer. If you have never had your license suspended, it will be shorter.
- First Point Suspension= 1 month
- Second Point Suspension = 3 months
- Third Point Suspension= 6 months
- Fourth and subsequent point suspension= 12 months
These timeframes are based on license suspensions for reaching the 10 points in 5 years. If you have a DUI-related license suspension, the timeframe will most likely be longer.
How do I get my license back after a suspension?
Once your license has been suspended, the only way to get it back is to serve your suspension time and then pay your reinstatement fee. In most instances, you can pay your fee online or in person at the Service OK office, and may even send a representative to pay the fee for you.
In some instances, you may be required to meet with a driving compliance hearing officer to pay the fee and discuss your driving record. Your reinstatement fee is set by Oklahoma Statute and will vary depending on the reason for your license suspension.
Is there a way to lower the points on my driving record?
Yes! If you are looking to reduce the points on your driving record before they lead to a suspension, you can take an approved defensive driving course. This course will ordinarily take around 6 hours, and will subtract 2 points from your record. This course can only be taken once within a 24-month period.
This means you cannot take the course five times and have 10 points removed from your driving record. These classes do not include the motor vehicle accident prevention course. While these courses can be helpful for lowering the cost of your automobile insurance, they will not lower the number of points on your driving record.
Another way to lower points is to go a full 12 months without receiving any type of point-related traffic violations. If you accomplish that, your record will be lowered by 2 points. Additionally, if you go 3 years without any point violations, your record will be reduced to zero points, giving you a fresh start.
When are the points applied to my record?
Points are not automatically applied to your record after a traffic violation. They are only applied upon a plea of guilty, or when you pay for the traffic violation with the applicable court. In many instances, it is easier to get your ticket reduced (therefore reducing the number of points on your record) with the prosecuting attorney or the court, rather than dealing with the suspension from Service OK.
While it is up to the individual prosecutor to determine if they are willing to reduce your ticket, you can typically take some kind of defensive driving course to have your ticket reduced by either 1 or 2 speeding levels, which will typically lower the number of points associated. While this doesn’t always save you money in the short term (because you are paying for the class), it can reduce the points on your record, preventing a license suspension and saving you money in the long term.
Oklahoma Point System with a CDL
If you have a commercial drivers license (CDL), the point system can be a problem. Not only are you on the road much more frequently than the average driver, making it far more likely for you to receive a ticket, but Service OK will often use a separate system that adds more points to your license. This is paired with Oklahoma’s anti-masking statute, which prevents prosecutors from providing a deferred sentence to individuals with a commercial drivers license who committed driving-related infractions. All of this combined makes it highly likely that those with CDLs will face a suspended license at some point in their lives.
The Bottom Line
If you have been charged with a traffic violation, it’s easier to prevent the accumulation of points while the citation is still in the court system, rather than attempt to remove points once they have accumulated. The best way to do this is to hire an attorney who understands both the criminal court system, as well as the Service OK system, to negotiate a plea deal that will prevent a license suspension. If you have been given a traffic citation and are worried about having your license suspended, give us a call for a free consultation.